My Top 10 Favorite Authors Series (Part 1)

There are many authors out there that read something and was so blown away that they had to write it down. Then bam! They became a writer. For me it was a different story.

I didn’t gain a love for reading until I entered middle school. Before I used to hate reading because I never could really picture the story in my head. Then I picked up a book and never went back.

Here are 2 of the 10 of my favorite authors that got me to sit down and express myself through writing. I owe everything to these people.

1. Stephanie Meyer. Author of the Twilight series.

stephenie-meyer2

Now before people start to get all judgy, I wanted to say that this book series is what got me to like reading again. I was in 7th grade and my friend had me read a part from the second book, New Moon. It was the part where Edward left Bella and I turn to my friend and ask, “Which one is the vampire again?”

Laughing my friend said that it was Edward and I was confused and yet intrigued. Then a few weeks later I saw the first book, Twilight,  at the library and noticed the apple on the cover. I vaguely remembered my older sister having a book on her desk with a similar cover: pale hands holding an apple.

I then went home, found the first Twilight book in my sister’s bookshelf and began to read it. I couldn’t put it down. My mom found me sitting cross legged on my bedroom floor and asked me what I was doing.

“Reading a book,” I said.

My mom was shocked since it was the first 500 plus page book I’ve ever read cover to cover without having trouble understanding the content or getting upset and declaring that “I was too dumb to read.” When I was in fifth grade I was just put on Adderall for my Attention Deficit Disorder. I always was a slow reader and had problems with reading comprehension. Whenever I would read a story my mind would be blank. I couldn’t picture the story in my head. It was like a black screen at a movie theater.

So when my mom found me not just finishing a 500 plus page novel cover to cover in a month, but picturing everything that story told in my head like a movie in my mind, well she forever thanks Stephanie Meyer for that. I do too. She got me into YA fantasy.

2. Cassandra Clare. Author of the Mortal Instruments series.

Cassandra Clare

I started reading Clare’s books over the summer before my senior year of high school. At first book one was a little slow to get into, but I was hooked. After finishing the whole series, I went through a journey that was filled with powerful, inspiring, and bad ass female characters, diverse LGBTQ characters, and characters of color. The characters were so real and so well written that I could feel their emotions. I got to connect with them on a whole other level.

She writes an amazing story that deals with the themes of friendship, finding one’s identity, importance of one’s soul, and importance of family. She makes her readers laugh, cringe, and cry buckets of tears with many glasses of wine. As a writer, that’s what I want for my readers.

I was lucky enou10312434_10203266788262980_2367704182410892566_ngh to meet her in person at one of her book signings. I was so star struck and excited and couldn’t stop smiling. When I got up to her and she asked what my name was, I pointed to the sticky note that said JAMIE in all caps and said, “Like Campbell Bower.”

(Jamie Campbell Bower played Jace in the movie version of Clare’s book.)

Clare smiled and said, “That’s right!”

We continued to have a conversation and I swear I was shaking after it was over. It was so surreal.

I was thrown into a magical world with Shadowhunters, warlocks, vampires, fairies, werewolves, and demons reek havoc in New York City.  I loved every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

