I Am “Most Girls”

5626a07225f2fff533ccacba077df6f4.1000x1000x1

I heard some of my favorite bands and artists came out with new music. So, I did what I usually do: went on Spotify, searched Hailee Steinfeld and Fall Out Boy, and found out they came out with new music. Since I am shamelessly obsessed with Hailee Steinfeld since she came out with “Love Myself” on the radio, I looked her up first and came across her new single “Most Girls.”

Hailee is pop. I am not afraid to admit that I jam to pop music in my car when I drive around my hometown, or on the highway. But her song “Most Girls” made me think about how I was when I was a fifteen year old girl trying to feel comfortable in my own skin while hearing the words like “overweight”, “fat”, “size 18 jeans”, “extra large.” It was a rough time. Being 6 years later and in college, my mind is focused more on “how do I pass this class?” than “Freshman 15? It’s more like Junior 25.” I am a big girl. It took me a long time to come to terms with the fact that big and curvy equaled beautiful.

“You know some days you feel so good in your own skin
But it’s okay if you wanna change the body that you came in
Cause you look greatest when you feel like a damn queen
We’re all just playing a game in a way, tryna win that life”

– Hailee Steinfeld “Most Girls”

Love_Myself_by_Hailee_SteinfeldSteinfeld is known for songs that have people talking; whether the conversation is about self empowerment, or physical self love in her song “Love Myself”. She also is the artist to attract teenagers going through the struggle that is figuring out who they are and being unique. So when I listened to “Most Girls” I was happy she kept going with the self-empowerment theme.

Pop music is evolving with more female groups and artists that are singing about self-empowerment, and being happy with who they are. For example, Fifth Harmony and Little Mix have songs that talk about female empowerment and being happy with who they are with songs like “That’s My Girl”, “Boss”, “Brave, Honest, Beautiful”, “That’s My Girl”, “Little Me”, “Wings”, and “Salute.” I wish I had more songs like these when I was fifteen.

There are still days were I look at myself in the mirror and am hyper aware of my stomach in the extra large shirts I fit in. Even at age 21, I look at bikinis and cringe sometimes because I never was comfortable showing that much of my skin before. Hearing songs that tell me I am beautiful in my own skin, to embrace my smart mind, and that there is nothing wrong with standing out; do not care about what other people say or think, it makes me start to embrace self confidence.

Self confidence is needed in a career like writing. Since rejection and bad reviews are apart of the writing career, I have to be comfortable with myself and learn how to put my invisible shield up so I can succeed. I know it is better said than done, however it takes time and surrounding oneself with the right people and the right atmosphere. Be proud of being a hard worker. Be proud of the little things you do in your life. Whether you are skinny, curvy, or in between, you are what Hailee sings about.

“Most girls are smart and strong and beautiful
Most girls work hard, go far, we are unstoppable
Most girls, our fight to make every day
No two are the same.”

– Hailee Steinfeld “Most Girls”

Hailee Steinfeld’s single “Most Girls” is out now on Spotify. Her song is the Song of the Day.

 

Leave a Reply

